Dr. Jim Doolittle
Director of SC EPSCoR

(803) 737-7813, Email

Dr. Jim Doolittle is the Director of SC EPSCoR. He previously served as the Associate Vice President for Research and Sponsored Programs at South Dakota State University. He previously served as the Director of the North-Central Sun Grant Center at South Dakota State University where he implemented and administered a $57 million program funded by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Department of Transportation, Department of Energy, and the Department of Defense. Dr. Doolittle also served as the Associate Director of the South Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station where he managed four grants to include the Four-State Ruminant Consortium, South Dakota Seed Tech Laboratory, Michigan Biotechnology Institute, and the Sun Grant Initiative. He was a tenured Professor in the Agronomy, Horticulture, and Plant Science Department at South Dakota State University. Dr. Doolittle has a Bachelor of Science in Agronomy/Crops and Soils from Purdue University and a Master of Science and Ph.D. in Soil Science from Texas A&M University.

April Heyward, MRA
Program Manager

(803) 733-9068, Email

April Heyward serves as the Program Manager of the SC EPSCoR State Office. She is a Doctor of Public Administration (DPA) Student in the Department of Political Science at Valdosta State University and a R Programmer. Her research interests are Computational Social Science, Data Science, E-Government, Machine Learning, Public Administration, and Public Policy. April is integrating Data Science and Machine Learning and employing R programming into her research and research methods. Her long-term research focus is how data science and machine learning can inform and solve complex, tame, and wicked problems in public administration and public policy. April’s educational background includes a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Benedict College and a Master of Research Administration (MRA) from the University of Central Florida. She is a member of the American Society of Public Administration (ASPA), ASPA Section on Public Administration Research, ASPA Lowcountry Chapter, and the South Carolina Academy of Science

Megan Souter
Financial Manager

(803) 734-2386, Email

Megan Souter serves as the Financial Manager of the SC EPSCoR State Office. She previously served as a Senior Auditor for South Carolina’s 82 School districts performing financial and compliance audits of state appropriated funds. She also performed special request, pre-award, and limited scope audits. She previously served as an Internal Auditor for disabled and special needs citizens where she performed operational, compliance and special request audits of provider organizations serving South Carolina. Megan has a Bachelor of Science in Sport and Entertainment Management/ Integrated Information Technology from the University of South Carolina, Columbia, and a Master of Business Administration from Webster University. She is currently a member of SC State Internal Auditor’s Association and the Institute of Internal Auditors.

Mignon DeWalt, MA
Marketing and Communications Manager

(803) 734-1427, Email

Mignon DeWalt is the Marketing and Communications Manager of the SC EPSCoR State Office. She has previously served as the Lead Graphic and Web Designer for her own boutique design firm where she serviced a gamut of nonprofit and religious organizations, as well as small to medium sized businesses across the Eastern seaboard in creating brand identities, designing supporting print collateral and developing winning social media strategies to aid in translating their company mission through visual means. She has also provided editorial copy for several print and digital publications, as well as served in various volunteer capacities where she assisted new businesses in brand launches and provided graphic design services. Mignon's educational background includes a Bachelor of Arts in Visual and Performing Arts from the University of Maryland Baltimore County and a Masters of Arts in Humanities with a concentration in New Media Communications from Prescott College.