Stimulus Research Program2018-2019 Stimulus Research Program
Award Recipients

(January 19, 2018) SC EPSCoR is pleased to announce the recipients of our Stimulus Research Program (SRP). The Program was developed to strengthen South Carolina’s research capacity and research competitiveness. Each proposal was submitted by a collaborative team consisting of at least two of the three comprehensive research universities and two predominately undergraduate institutions.

SC EPSCoR received 29 proposals by the September 1, 2017 deadline. A national firm was retained to manage the review process for the proposals, and the firm in turn obtained external reviews of the proposals. The selection of the four projects was based on the results of the external reviews.

  • “Data-driven optimization of bioengineered vascular scaffolds as an advanced material for small diameter blood vessel replacement,” lead by Wayne Carver, USC School of Medicine. Co-PIs: John Eberth, USC; William Richardson, Clemson University; Matthew Stern, Winthrop University; and Derrick Swinton, Claflin University.
  • “Anaerobic membrane bioreactors as a next-generation technology to address the food-energy water nexus,” lead by Scott Husson, Clemson University. Co-PIs: Nicole Berge, USC; Jessica Ferrer, Benedict College; Brannon Andersen, Furman University; Sudeep Popat, Clemson University; and Gary Amy, Clemson.
  • “High Performance Li-S Batteries,” lead by Apparao Rao, Clemson University. Co-PIs: Ramakrishna Podilla, Clemson University; Simona Onori, Clemson University; John Weidner, USC; Marlena Washington, Claflin University; and Narayanan Kuthirummal, College of Charleston.
  • “Intersection of epigenetic regulation and mitochrondrial function in autism,” lead by Jeff Twiss, USC. Co-PIs: Omar Bagasra, Claflin University, Luigi Boccuto, Greenwood Genetic Center; Kevin Champaigne, Clemson University; Linnea Freeman, Furman University, and Sofia Lizarraga, USC.

Learn more about these teams and their projects at our 2018 State Conference on Saturday, April 7, 2018.

Read more about the Stiumulus Research Program by clicking here.

2018 Inaugural Stimulus Research Project Teams

Team Carver
Team Husson
Team Rao
Team Twiss
Ready to get to work

Contact Information

General inquiries regarding this program should be made to:

April Heyward, MRA
Program Manager, SC EPSCoR Program
1000 Catawba Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 733-9068